I just don’t know man…

by whatiwastryingtosaywas

News headlines. That’s what Justin Bieber’s upcoming concerts are making in SA. I don’t care about Bieber. You like her? Fine. What left me feeling somewhat appalled is how American South Africans seem to have become.

Or rather, how American South African parents are letting their kids become. I’m not sure I want to live on a planet where girls can be photographed sitting in the road crying because they missed out on Bieber tickets.

Are there not bigger things to think about in this country today? Where does the sense of entitlement come from? Is it not a sense of entitlement that leads to tantrums on the street? Am I going to be the world’s worst mother, after all? Will my child be so much of a realist that he borders on pessimistic? Would I prefer that to these brats?

Courtesy a work colleague who may or may not want to be named here.

Courtesy Jared Carneson – comic genius.

In other news, I believe it’ll be a day or two and I won’t have a belly button anymore… it’s looking alien up in der…

*Quick addendum: Before someone states the obvious – I know many African women show emotion wherever they are during times of high grief and that wailing and rending and beating of chests is a very African thing to do. But, to my mind, high grief and Justin Bieber should not feature in the same sentence and certainly shouldn’t be held in the same esteem.

